Innocence and Experience

Wednesday, June 26, 2024
Mixon Hall, Cleveland Institute of Music

SOLD OUT! There are no longer tickets available for this performance.

One of the great masters of Spanish Baroque guitar, Boccherini charms with pastoral grace and dashing flair. The extraordinary originality of Lutosławski’s Partita gains an extra intimacy with semi-improvised elements (especially when performed by CFC’s husband-and-wife Artistic Directors), as a floating texture and long lyrical arcs contrast with dark driving energetic forces. Grainger’s arrangement of Gershwin’s folk opera is a powerful fantasia, and then innocence makes a comeback with a youthful piano quintet, packed with inexhaustible spontaneity from its bold, assertive opening to joyful fiddling finish.

Luigi Boccherini
Guitar Quintet in D Major “Fandango”
Witold Lutosławski
Partita for Violin and Piano
Percy Grainger
Fantasy on George Gershwin’s “Porgy and Bess”
Samuel Coleridge-Taylor
Piano Quintet in G Minor

Join us for a POSTLUDE ICE CREAM SOCIAL, courtesy of Mitchell’s Homemade Ice Cream.

Click here for details about venues and parking