Human Existence

Saturday, June 18, 2022
Cleveland Institute of Music

Written in 1917 and described by the composer as “an example of what may be produced by a sick man in time of war,” Debussy’s Violin Sonata—his last completed work—is dreamy and tranquil, with bursts of sentiment and steely determination. Russian composer Galina Ustvolskaya says that she only writes when “in a state of grace,” with a relentless, Shostakovian intensity. Upon hearing Schubert’s buoyant Piano Trio, Robert Schumann declared: “the troubles of our human existence disappear and all the world is fresh and bright again.”

Claude Debussy
Violin Sonata
Galina Ustvolskaya
Clarinet Trio
Robert Schumann
Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 47

Program Notes

Sorry, no posts were found.

Click here for details about venues and parking