Exquisite Beginnings

Thursday, June 16, 2022
Cleveland Institute of Music

What better way to open ChamberFest Cleveland’s 10th season than with the brilliant joyousness of Mozart on duo pianos? Tonight’s program also introduces the season-wide celebration of composer George Walker, the first Black composer to win a Pulitzer Prize, with his complex and lyrical Cello Sonata. And talk about a big finish: the “heavenly length” of Brahms’s most extensive instrumental work fairly bursts with Viennese flamboyance and Schubertian charm.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart/Edvard Grieg
Sonata No. 16 for Two Pianos, K. 545
George Walker
Cello Sonata
Johannes Brahms
Piano Quartet No. 2

Opening night POSTLUDE TOAST with festival artists

Program Notes

Sorry, no posts were found.

Click here for details about venues and parking